Carabao Cup Final: Manchester United beat Newcastle United to win first title in six years


Manchester United won their first major title in six years despite dominating the Carabao Cup final at Wembley Stadium.

Newcastle United had 62 percent of the ball possession in the Carabao Cup final after making 416 passes. They took 13 shots, but only one of them was on target.

Manchester United, coached by Erik ten Hag, had only 38 percent of the ball possession but a massive 8 shots on target from 13 shots.

United’s best part of the game was the first 45 minutes, when they put pressure on coach Eddie Howe’s side, who were missing first-choice goalkeeper Nick Pope (suspended).

Manchester United’s pressure paid off in the 33rd minute, when Casemiro, the club’s midfielder, scored the opening goal.

Manchester United had to wait nearly two minutes for the VAR to confirm Luke Shaw’s assisted goal before they could celebrate.

The victory for Erik ten Hag and his team was sealed in the 39th minute when Dutch center-back Sven Botman scored an own goal.

Following that, the pressure was on the Red Devils in the final 45 minutes of the game, but Newcastle were unable to breach United’s defense. As a result, the Red Devils won the game 2-0.

The Carabao Cup title is Ten Hag’s first title since he joined the club last summer and it is also United’s first title since coach Jose Mourinho left the club in 2018.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!